top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYuval Shay-El

The Theory of Zvi Harry Nadel - my article

Updated: May 2, 2023

חברים יקרים,


אני שמח לשתף במאמר חדש שכתבתי על צבי הרי נדל, המורה שלי לקומפוזיציה. המאמר מופיע ב"מנעד" כתב העת של האיגוד הישראלי למוסיקולוגיה. במאמר אני מציג את עיקרי תורתו המוסיקלית הייחודית של נדל וקווים לדמותו, ומציג מספר דוגמאות עכשוויות של כמה מתלמידיו ממשיכי דרכו (בדרכם האישית) משה רסיוק, יעקב זיסו, שולמית רובינוביץ ואני, כעדות להשפעתו המתמשכת.

תודתי לאלכס רוזנבלט, עורך מנעד, ולקורא האנונימי של המאמר על הערותיהם המועילות, לציפי פליישר המלחינה וחוקרת המוסיקה שסייעה רבות בקשירת הקצוות וקידום הפרויקט של כתיבת מאמר זה, ולחברי המלחינים והמוסיקאים, תלמידיו של נדל ומוקירי זכרו, אשר מוזכרים במאמר. ובנימה אישית - שמחתי בכתיבת מאמר זה לחזור לשורשים שלי עצמי, לא רק של שיטות הקומפוזיציה, אלא גם של עולם המחקר האקדמי, אותן למדתי מפנחס אלפרט המנחה בעבודתי בתחום המטאורולוגיה. אכן זו היתה כעת הזדמנות ייחודית לחבר את העולמות שלי, מעין רפלקציה.


המאמר זמין באתר של מנעד: https://www2.biu.ac.il/hu/mu/min-ad יש ללחוץ על הכפתור "Vol. 21, 2023" בראש העמוד מימין.

אתם מוזמנים לקרוא, תודה ויום עצמאות שמח!

Dear friends,


I am thrilled to share a new article I wrote about Zvi Harry Nadel, who was my composition teacher. The article has been published in "Min-Ad", the journal of the Israel Musicological Association. In the article, I present some of Nadel's main theoretical concepts and compositional techniques while illuminating his original approach and personality. The enduring influence of Nadel is portrayed through an examination of recent compositions created by his former students, including Moshe Rasiuk, Ya’aqov Ziso, Shulamit Rubinovich and myself.

My thanks are extended to Alex Rosenblatt, Min-Ad's editor, and the anonymous reviewer for their insightful comments, to composer and researcher Tsippi Fleischer for her support in getting this work published, and to my fellow composers and musicians, who were Nadel's former students and admirers of his memory, and who are mentioned in the article.


On a personal note, I was thrilled to write this article as it allowed me to reconnect with my roots, not only in terms of composition methods but also in the world of academic research, which I learned from Pinhas Alpert, my supervisor in the field of meteorology. It was a unique opportunity for me to connect my worlds, and I am grateful for the experience.

The article is available on the Min-Ad website, and I invite you to read it. Thank you, and I wish you all a Happy Independence Day! Select https://www2.biu.ac.il/hu/mu/min-ad and click on the "Vol. 21, 2023" button in the upper right corner of the screen.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Visit my new home page at www.yuvalshayel.com

Dear Reader, I hope this message finds you well. I wanted to share some exciting news with you. I have recently launched my new homepage, which can be found at www.yuvalshayel.com . I invite you to vi

bottom of page